Wednesday, February 21, 2024

3 Philippines Cities, 21 Stakeholders Feted In ASEAN Tourism Awards 2024

3 Philippines Cities, 21 Stakeholders Feted In ASEAN Tourism Awards 2024

How do you feel about this story?


Three cities and 21 tourism stakeholders from the Philippines have been recognized during the 2024 ASEAN Tourism Standard Awards in Vientiane, Laos.

The awarding ceremony was one of the activities in the ASEAN Tourism Forum 2024 which ran from Jan. 22 to 27, the Department of Tourism (DOT) said in a news release on Wednesday.

The cities of Baguio in Benguet, Ilagan in Isabela, and Tabuk in Kalinga were awarded as the ASEAN Clean Tourist City, the Department of Tourism

According to ASEAN Tourism Standards, these are the areas where the flow of visitors and where cultural, natural and/or man-made attractions exist.

Prime Properties Pearl Farm Beach Resort, Club Paradise Palawan, Bohol Beach Club, Seda Nuvali, and The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay won the ASEAN Green Hotel Award.

This citation is given to hotel industry players whose operations are based on the achievement of sustainable tourism through environment-friendly principles, human resource development, resource consumption reduction, and local community involvement.

About 15 Philippine venues were given the ASEAN Meeting, Incentive, Convention, Exhibition (MICE) Venue Awards granted to physical spaces with quality facilities and impressive services, designed and provided for MICE activities with purposes for meetings, exhibitions, and events.

The major criteria for the awards encompass the standards of physical aspects, venue management, and people working within venues that competitively meet the requirements of MICE travelers. It is divided into three categories: room, exhibition venue, and event venue category.

Properties Bai Hotel Cebu, Clark Marriott Hotel, Hilton Clark Sun Valley Resort, Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa, Seda Hotel Nuvali won the meeting room category; World Trade Center Metro Manila (Manila Exposition Complex), SMX Convention Center Manila, Cordillera Convention Hall by Baguio Country Club, Isabela Convention Center (ICON), and Iloilo Convention Center won the exhibition hall category; and Palacio del Sur by Marcian Group, Jpark Island Resort & Waterpark Cebu, Infinity Garden by Baguio Country Club, CAP-John Hay Trade and Cultural Center, Princesa Garden Island Resort and Spa by Modern Asia, Inc. were named as the winners for the event venue category.

Meantime, Palawan-based property Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort was named as a lead partner for “Enchanting Gastronomical Sabang Delights, Beach Forest and Caves” under the ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards.

Tourism Secretary Christina Frasco said the winners made not only significant revenue contributions but also employed millions of Filipinos.

“These achievements reflect not only the excellence and dedication that you have put in with the development of tourism but also contribute significantly to the overall advancement and sustainability of the ASEAN tourism industry,” she said.

A total of 192 ASEAN Tourism Standards Awards were given to the member countries.

These include 46 establishments honored with the 9th ASEAN Green Hotel Award; 22 entities for the 4th ASEAN Clean Tourist City Award; 43 establishments for the 4th ASEAN MICE Venue Award (Category Meeting Room); 32 establishments for the 2nd ASEAN MICE Venue Award (Category Exhibition Venue); 33 establishments for the 1st ASEAN MICE Venue Award (Category Event Venue); 9 establishments for the 4th ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Award (Gastronomy Tourism theme; Rural Sustainable Product Category), and seven establishments for the 4th ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Award (Gastronomy Tourism theme; Urban Sustainable Product Category). (PNA)